It’s all about the Macarons or is it Macaroons?


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay, I admit it.  I’m proud.  I’m darn proud of my Macarons.  I worked hard to perfect these sweet little bites of heaven and I wanted to tell you about it.  Is that bad?

A friend texted me last week to enquire whether I would like to make three dozen macarons for her sister’s book club meeting.  My answer?  Why yes, of course!  I mean just because I had only made them once before did not hinder my quick and ecstatic response in the affirmative.

My brief was wide open.  Any colors, any flavors.  Just the kind of project I can sink my teeth into.

I decided on red, yellow and orange shells – nice and bright and cheerful.  They turned out really well too, until I got to the orange.  It was my last pan of macarons to bake and I guess the batter must have dried out a bit in the long wait in line for the oven because they all cracked…every single one.  Ugh.

With no time to make another batch, which includes painstakingly sifting ground almonds and whizzing them up in the blender when they refuse to co-operate, I decided to soldier on with the fillings.

Now I don’t know about you, but I feel the filling make the macaron.  Argue with me if you will, but I know I am right.

For the red macaron I wanted a cherry filling, so I opted for almond whipped cream with chopped maraschino cherries.  To finish it off, I good dollop of dark chocolate and the result is near perfection.  Yum!

The yellow macaron called for a lemon filling.  I made homemade lemon curd (a la Ina Garten) to pipe around the perimeter of the shell and a small mini-dollop of vanilla cream.  Tangy and creamy deliciousness!

The orange macaron with the flawed shell needed to taste magnificient, to make up for it’s little imperfection.  I opted for an Amish recipe for Orange Fluff, a fruit dip that I had made recently for a play date party for my kids.  It is zingy and creamy and full of flavor.  I think it did the trick.  My orange macarons need not feel the slightest bit self-conscious carrying such a gorgeous filling.

So the macarons were boxed up and taken away to the book club.  I felt a bit sad to see them go.  I spent the best part of the day making them, taking great care in their assembly, and packing them gently.  With such a delicate treat, you can never be too careful.  I felt as though I was sending one of my children off to school for the first time. 

I anxiously awaited news of their reception at the book club meeting.  I must admit I was a bit nervous.  The following morning I received a very kind text telling me the macarons were fab and completely devoured by the literary ladies. 

Hooray!  Success!

Now, is this the kind of business I really want to be in?  I don’t know if I could take not knowing that the food I made was or was not enjoyed.  Hmm….something to think about.

Leave a Reply

