A Right Royal Wedding


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay, I know, I know….everyone is sick of hearing about the Royal Wedding, everyone but me!  I couldn’t be more pleased that I am able to be here in England to celebrate this wonderful event.  My daughter and I have made pint sized wedding cakes together – messy but fun. She seems to think that icing needs to be decorated extensively with sprinkles.  I started calling her ‘ the sprinkle fairy’.  Take a look at the photos and you’ll see why! 🙂  

Today we went to the cafe where I volunteer to watch the wedding on the big screen and enjoy a cream tea (that’s tea with scones, clotted cream and jam, very English) with some of the ladies from our church.  My little Pixie insisted on bringing her Kate Middleton doll with her, which I figured was only appropriate.  The ceremony was beautiful and my daughter was very excited for  the first 15 minutes, then she wanted to go home.  It’s a good thing there were delicious treats and tea in a real china teacup to convince her to stay the duration.  I know I’m not British, but I was so proud of Kate Middleton today – she played her part perfectly and looked gorgeous.  I wish the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge all the luck in the world!

After watching the wedding, we headed out to a street party in the neighboring village complete with running races and fun for the kids.  My kids went straight to the playground, ignoring the races and fun altogether.  Pix met up with some of her friends from pre-school, including her two best mates – the three amigos!  My son played on the playground for a few minutes and then guided my husband to the car.  We never know when he’s going to react this way and it’s really difficult to enjoy yourself when you know half of your family is sitting the car waiting for you.  Nonetheless, my daughter did have a good time playing with her friends for a bit, so it wasn’t all bad.

For dinner we had planned to join our neighbors for a hog roast in our village hall.  It didn’t quite turn out that way.  The kids ate dinner at home as usual, then bath and bed.  After they were tucked in, I went along to the hog roast to chat a bit and take some food home for my husband.  It was lovely to have a gathering in the village and I wish we would have been able to take the kids along, but the timing was just too late for them. 

It was a lovely day, a beautiful wedding ceremony and time with friends.

2 thoughts on “A Right Royal Wedding

  1. So much fun Meg! I thought about you every time I heard a story on the royal wedding. (which was a lot!!!) It sounds like a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

