The Creativity of the Dragon


In late March 2010 my family and I moved from a seaside resort in Somerset to a tiny village in Northamptonshire. On the day that we moved into our new house, I took this photo. My daughter, age 3, would not stop talking about the ‘dragon’ she saw out the window. I stopped, got out of the car and snapped this shot. She was right. This tree does look like a giant dragon. My children are such wonderful little reminders to me that creativity is alive in the innocence and honesty of little minds.

I’ve been thinking a lot about being creative and inventive over the last few weeks. My son, age 3 (yes, they are twins) has just been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and I have begun reading up on theories, therapies, and any ideas to help my son cope and eventually lead an independent and full life. Wow! This is huge and daunting and at the moment a bit of information over-load. My son is 3 and he is growing and changing all the time…it’s impossible to guess what he might be like in a few months time, let alone as a hopefully independent adult! So I have decided to take things one day at a time…deep breath… and learn as much as I can, opening my mind to this new way of thinking, a new world – my son’s world.

Before my son’s diagnosis I was struggling to find something to fulfill my need to express myself creatively. I found this quote by American Theologian Howard Thurman: 

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

I have a wonderful husband, two amazing children and a beautiful home in the country. I have come alive and I’m ready to share my adventures with you.

9 thoughts on “The Creativity of the Dragon

  1. this is great ghan!! way to get the creative juices flowing, and with such a good intent behind it. im so pleased that you are going to share your journey with everyone. good luck and i will be reading along… xoxo

Leave a Reply

